List of Sites

The Sazonovs' Estate

The Sazonovs' Estate

Nowadays:

Dwelling house

Yegor Sozonov was born on May 26, 1879 in Petrovskoye village of Vyatka Governorate in a family of old believers. In the course of time some old believers' surnames (for instance Sofronov) changed the spelling. Sozonov, too, changed its spelling into Sazonov. His father Sergey Sozonov made a fortune as a timber merchant and moved his family to Ufa. Yegor Sozonov used to recollect: «I stem from a right-thinking, religious and pro-monarchy family of peasants. The family moved from the village to...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      103 Kommunisticheskaya Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      Novomostovaya
  • History

      Yegor Sozonov was born on May 26, 1879 in Petrovskoye village of Vyatka Governorate in a family of old believers. In the course of time some old believers' surnames (for instance Sofronov) changed the spelling. Sozonov, too, changed its spelling into Sazonov. His father Sergey Sozonov made a fortune as a timber merchant and moved his family to Ufa. Yegor Sozonov used to recollect: «I stem from a right-thinking, religious and pro-monarchy family of peasants. The family moved from the village to town and became rich through the use of Bashkir forests. It happened rather late when I was 10-11 years old. My soul was fully influenced by the family; it was hostile to any protest about the way of Russia's living. My father's house is decorated equally with icons and tsar portraits». Yegor spent his childhood and teen years in Ufa. Being the best student of Ufa gymnasium, he entered initially the law department and later the medical department of Moscow University. He dreamt of becoming a local doctor.

      Initially Sozonov stayed away from politics, but when 183 revolutionary-minded students in Kiev were sent to soldiers, and after assassination attempts on tsar officials, he got interested in the revolutionary movement. He summoned his University friends to oppose the government's decision.

      In 1901 he was expelled from the University and sent back to Ufa. On March 29, 1902 his parent's house on the corner of Bolshaya Uspenskaya and Spasskaya Streets (demolished in the mid-2000s) was checked. The police found decisive evidence: addresses of places of secret meetings. In Ufa prison he suffered from bad attitude and went on hunger strike. Then he escaped the exile in Yakutiya and left for Switzerland, where he joined the party of socialist revolutionaries and entered a combat organization.

      Nevertheless, his father still believed that his son would settle down and marry. He even built a one-storey brick mansion for son's future family up the same street. One may suppose that the father learned about his son's affair with the daughter of an important Moscow official. An unknown architect followed the traditions of the brick style. Entrance gates in the form of a brick arch were situated to the right of the house. Except for being one-storey the mansion strongly resembled the house of Sultanov on Voskresenskaya (nowadays Tukayev) Street. The porch was in the yard. Unfortunately, during the reconstruction all the decorations of the brick style were plastered; the porch was removed to give space for additional floors. The gates were also demolished to let the construction equipment in the yard.

      However, it seems that Yegor Sozonov never saw this house. With a fake passport he returned to Russia. On July 15 (28), 1904 together with his fellow member of the combat organization in St. Petersburg he murdered Minister of Internal Affairs V. Pleve. Sozonov was badly wounded, deprived of any rights and sent for life-long penal servitude. From Butyrskaya prison he was moved to Nerchinnsk mines. The amnesty of 1905 shortened Sozonov servitude. At the end of 1907 he was moved to Zerentuy penal servitude. The new prison director Vysotsky ordered to give a flogging to political prisoners because of a tiny cause. The rate of suicides increased. On November 1910 in order to prevent the suicides and to draw public eye to the problems of the prisoners Yegor Sozonov took poison. He did so only two months before the end of his servitude. He was buried in Gorny Zerentuy. On May 25, 1917 his remains were moved to Ufa and buried at the Sergius cemetery. Nowadays in the place of the demolished monument they erected a grey obelisk.

      On May 1, 1918 Bolshaya Uspenskaya Street of Ufa was named after Yegor Sazonov. In 1937 the authorities had to name one of the central streets after Stalin, and so they named the former Sazonov Street after Stalin, and named Stalin Street (previously Budanovskaya Street) in the downtown after Sazonov.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
5391
9
To top

Каталог объектов

Усадьба Сазоновых

Усадьба Сазоновых

В наше время:

Жилой дом

Егор Созонов родился 26 мая 1879 года в селе Петровском Вятской губернии в старообрядческой семье. Как и некоторые другие старообрядческие фамилии (Софронов, например) фамилию Созонов стали произносить и писать через А – Сазонов. Отец, Сергей Лазаревич Созонов, приписался к...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Коммунистическая улица, 103
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Новомостовая»
  • История

      Егор Созонов родился 26 мая 1879 года в селе Петровском Вятской губернии в старообрядческой семье. Как и некоторые другие старообрядческие фамилии (Софронов, например) фамилию Созонов стали произносить и писать через А – Сазонов. Отец, Сергей Лазаревич Созонов, приписался к купеческому сословию, став лесопромышленником разбогател и перевёз семью в Уфу. «По рождению я происхожу из благомыслящей, в высшей степени религиозной и монархически настроенной крестьянской семьи, которая переселилась из деревни в город и там быстро разбогатела эксплуатацией башкирских лесов – сравнительно уже поздно, когда мне было лет 10-11. Тот дух, которым я был пропитан, пока находился всецело и единственно под влиянием семьи, был в высшей степени враждебен какому-либо протесту или недовольству строем жизни русской. Царские портреты наравне с иконами украшают комнаты в доме моего отца», – писал Егор Сергеевич. Детские годы и юность Егора прошли в Уфе. «Первым учеником» окончив Уфимскую гимназию, Созонов поступил в Московский университет, сначала на юридический факультет, потом на медицинский. Мечтал стать земским врачом.

      Сначала Созонов был далёк от политики, но сдача 183 киевских революционно настроенных студентов в солдаты, покушения на царских сановников вызвала в нём интерес к революционному движению. Он призвал своих товарищей по университету выступить против такого решения царского правительства.

      В 1901-м его исключили из университета и отправили в Уфу. 29 марта 1902 года в родительском доме Созонова на углу Большой Успенской и Спасской улиц (снесён в середине 2000-х гг.), был проведён обыск. Полицейские нашли неопровержимые улики – адреса, явки. В уфимской тюрьме с ним стали плохо обращаться, и он прибегнул к голодовке. Из якутской ссылки он сбежал и уехал в Швейцарию, где окончательно примкнул к партии социалистов-революционеров и вступил в боевую организацию.

      Отец, тем не менее, продолжал верить в то, что сын остепенится, женится. Он даже выстроил для будущей семьи сына одноэтажный кирпичный особняк на той же Большой Успенской чуть выше своего дома. Можно предполагать, что отец узнал об отношениях сына с дочерью важного московского чиновника. Дом этот неизвестный архитектор выполнил в традициях кирпичного стиля, справа к дому примыкала кирпичная же арка – въездные ворота. Особняк сильно походил на дом М.Т. Султановой на Воскресенской (Тукаева) улице, только был одноэтажным. Со двора была устроена большая веранда. Впрочем, все изыски кирпичного стиля при реконструкции здания были заштукатурены, а на месте веранды надстроили этажи. Сломали и ворота, мешавшие проезду строительной техники.

      Впрочем, в этом доме Егор Созонов, возможно, так и не побывал: с поддельным паспортом на чужое имя он вернулся в Россию и 15 (28) июля 1904 года вместе с товарищами по боевой организации в Петербурге совершил убийство министра внутренних дел В.К. Плеве. Созонов был тяжело ранен, его лишили всех прав и определили на бессрочное содержание в каторжной тюрьме. Из Бутырской тюрьмы Егора отправили на Нерчинские рудники. Амнистия 1905 года ограничила пребывание Созонова на каторге. В конце 1907 года его перевели в Зерентуйскую каторжную тюрьму. Новый начальник тюрьмы Высоцкий, придравшись к ничтожному поводу, приказал выпороть политических заключённых. Участились самоубийства. Чтобы предотвратить их и привлечь к судьбам узников общественное мнение, в ноябре 1910 года, за два месяца до освобождения, Егор Созонов принял яд. Его похоронили в Горном Зерентуе, а 25 мая 1917 года прах Егора Созонова был привезён в Уфу, и состоялось перезахоронение на Сергиевском кладбище. Ныне на месте разрушенного памятника установлен серый обелиск.

      1 мая 1918 года уфимская улица Большая Успенская стала носить имя Егора Сазонова. А в 1937-м, когда властям пришлось назвать именем Сталина одну из главных улиц, была произведена «рокировка»: имя Сазонова стала носить бывшая улица Сталина (а до этого Будановская) в Старой Уфе.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5014
9
Наверх