List of Sites

Aksakov People's House

Aksakov People's House

Nowadays:

The Bashkir State Opera and Ballet Theatre

Before the revolution Ufa had one of the Russia’s best summer theaters in Vidineev’s Garden, but for many years the city lacked a decent winter theater: wooden buildings burnt down repeatedly, whereas the halls of the Big Siberian Hotel, of the Society for Assistance to Private Servants and the Assembly of the Nobility were inconvenient for both performers and spectators. The city needed a building for a winter theater. Besides, the city did not have a spacious hall to host public meetings....
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      5/1 Lenin Street
      Phone:
      +7 (347) 272-77-12, +7 (347) 273-84-72, +7 (347) 272-10-12
      Business hours:
      Mon-Sun 9.00a.m.-7.30p.m.
      E-mail:
      bashopera@ufanet.ru
      Public Transport Stop:
      Gostinyi dvor, Dom aktera imeni Beder Yusupovoi, Sovetskaya ploshchad
  • History

      Before the revolution Ufa had one of the Russia’s best summer theaters in Vidineev’s Garden, but for many years the city lacked a decent winter theater: wooden buildings burnt down repeatedly, whereas the halls of the Big Siberian Hotel, of the Society for Assistance to Private Servants and the Assembly of the Nobility were inconvenient for both performers and spectators. The city needed a building for a winter theater. Besides, the city did not have a spacious hall to host public meetings. Ufa Governor Klyucharyov believed that construction of one but the largest building in Ufa could solve all these problems. It was intended that Aksakov People’s House would host theatre and lecture halls, a library and reading room, and a museum. Besides, it was supposed to host a picture gallery which famous artist Mikhail Nesterov gave to the city as a gift.

      On November 30, 1908 the meeting of all the population strata initiated by Governor Klyucharyov decided to build an Aksakov People’s House in Ufa. An All-Russia competition was announced to choose the best project. In summer of 1909 Moscow and Saint-Petersburg magazines informed their readers that Ufa citizens celebrated the 50th anniversary of death of their fellow-countryman and writer Sergei Aksakov. The magazines also mentioned about the creation of Ufa Aksakov Committee, its initiative to build a People’s House and collection of donations for this purpose.

      All the projects, including the prize-winning projects, were severely criticized in Ufa. Finally, the project by a local engineer Pavel Rudavsky, compiled according to the pictures of Governor Klyucharyov, the Chairman of Aksakov Committee, was accepted. The best place in the city at the intersection of Central Street (now Lenin Street) and Pushkin Street was allocated for the building. On April 30, 1909, the day of the 50th anniversary of the writer’s death, the place was blessed.

      A lot of innovations, like central heating, were used for the construction. During the meeting in February 1910 the construction committee decided to use reinforced concrete for all the ceilings.

      During the construction the society of architects of the capital addressed the Academy of Arts and the Ministry of Internal Affairs with a request to suspend the construction of Aksakov House or, at least, its facades facing the street and the square. The point was that according to Rudavsky’s project the facade of the building on Pushkin Street was supposed to be built in a so-called Arabian style. Architects from the capital believed that the combination of two styles in one building is inartistic and strongly recommended to construct the building in a single style which they called the Renaissance (modern researchers call it neoclassicism, though the use of facing brick for various architectural details can denote a significant influence of the principles of the “brick style”). Such interference, though well-grounded, suspended the construction of Aksakov People’s House and didn’t allow finishing it by the beginning of the war. The interior finish remained an open issue till the 1920-s when the suggestions by Bondarenko, an artist, were approved.

      When the war started in 1914 the Aksakov People’s House hosted gymnasiums and schools, because their own buildings were employed as military hospital. The city library also moved to the People’s House and was named Aksakov library.

      It was believed that two wars didn’t allow finishing Aksakov People’s House: firstly, the I World War, then the civil war. But in reality only finishing works remained undone. In 1919 the former People’s House was opened. The same stage was “shared by drama and opera troupes.”

      In various periods the People’s House was named the Palace of Labor and Arts, The House of Culture, and since 1938 it is called the Bashkir State Opera and Ballet Theater.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
9586
9
To top

Каталог объектов

Дом народный С.Т. Аксакова

Дом народный С.Т. Аксакова

В наше время:

Башкирский государственный театр оперы и балета

Дореволюционная Уфа имела одно из лучших в России летнее театральное здание – в саду Видинеева, но много лет не имела хорошего зимнего театра: деревянные здания неоднократно сгорали, а залы Большой Сибирской гостиницы, Общества вспоможения частному служебному труду,...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Ленина улица, 5/1
      Телефон:
      +7 (347) 272-77-12, +7 (347) 273-84-72, +7 (347) 272-10-12
      Часы работы:
      Пн-Вс 9.00-19.30
      E-mail:
      bashopera@ufanet.ru
      Проезд:
      до остановок «Гостиный двор», «Дом актера им. Б. Юсуповой», «Советская площадь»
  • История

      Дореволюционная Уфа имела одно из лучших в России летнее театральное здание – в саду Видинеева, но много лет не имела хорошего зимнего театра: деревянные здания неоднократно сгорали, а залы Большой Сибирской гостиницы, Общества вспоможения частному служебному труду, дворянского собрания были неудобны как для артистов, так и для зрителей. Город нуждался в зимнем театральном здании. А ещё в городе не было вместительного зала для проведения общественных собраний. По замыслу уфимского губернатора А.С. Ключарева строительство одного, но самого большого в Уфе здания могло бы решить все эти проблемы. В Аксаковском народном доме предполагалось устроить театральный и лекционный залы, библиотеку-читальню и музей. Кроме того, в нём предполагалось разместить и картинную галерею, подаренную городу Михаилом Васильевичем Нестеровым.

      30 ноября 1908 года совещание с участием всех слоёв населения, инициатором которого был губернатор Ключарёв, вынесло решение о возведении в Уфе Аксаковского народного дома. Был объявлен всероссийский конкурс на лучший проект. Летом 1909 года московские и петербургские журналы рассказали читателям о том, как уфимцы отмечали пятидесятилетие со дня смерти писателя-земляка С. Т. Аксакова, и обязательно упоминали при этом о создании в Уфе Аксаковского комитета и его инициативе построить в городе народный дом, писали о сборе пожертвований на строительство.

      Все проекты, в том числе и премированные, в Уфе раскритиковали. В конце концов был принят проект губернского инженера Павла Павловича Рудавского, составленный по рисункам председателя Аксаковского комитета губернатора Ключарёва. Под постройку народного дома было отведено лучшее в городе место – на углу Центральной (Ленина) и Пушкинской улиц, в день пятидесятилетия со дня смерти писателя 30 апреля 1909 года состоялось его освящение.

      При сооружении дома использовались многие новшества, например, центральное отопление. А на заседании в феврале 1910 года строительной комиссии было решено все перекрытия в здании делать железобетонными.

      В самый разгар строительства столичное общество архитекторов обратилось с ходатайством в академию художеств и министерство внутренних дел о временной остановке работ на Аксаковском доме, по крайней мере, в лицевых частях здания, которые обращены на улицы и площадь. Дело в том, что по проекту инженера Рудавского фасад здания по Пушкинской улице должен был быть выполнен в так называемом Мавританском стиле, а столичные архитекторы посчитали сочетание двух стилей в одном сооружении антихудожественным и настоятельно рекомендовали строить здание в едином стиле, называя его ренессансом (современные исследователи говорят о неоклассицизме, хотя использование облицовочного кирпича как материала для выполнения различных архитектурных деталей позволяет говорить и о значительном влиянии принципов «кирпичного стиля»). Такое вмешательство, хотя и вполне обоснованное, намного задержало возведение Аксаковского народного дома и не позволило выстроить его до начала войны. А вопрос о внутренней отделке здания и вовсе оставался открытым до 1920-х годов, когда были утверждены предложения художника И.Е. Бондаренко.

      В 1914 году, после начала войны, в Аксаковском народном доме разместились гимназии и училища, здания которых были заняты под военные госпитали. Переехала в Народный дом и городская библиотека, получившая название Аксаковской. Считалось, что достроить Аксаковский народный дом помешали войны: сначала – первая мировая, затем – гражданская. На самом деле не были закончены лишь отделочные работы. В конце 1919 года бывший Народный дом был открыт. На одной сцене «по очереди играли драматическая и оперная труппы».

      В разные годы Народный дом назывался Дворцом труда и искусств, Домом культуры, а с 1938 года – Башкирским государственным театром оперы и балета.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
8414
9
Наверх