List of Sites

Blokhin's Booktrading Firm

Blokhin's Booktrading Firm

Nowadays:

Office block

In the early 20th century a large estate of the Blokhins (brothers Nikolay and Alexey) decorated Ufa downtown. Established in 1815 by their grandfather (or, perhaps, even their great-grandfather) as a trade company, in the early 20th century nothing but the company's name resembled the initial firm. In the early 1916 Moscow publishers headed by the famous Ivan Sytin (1851-1934) congratulated N. Blokhin, 72, upon the 100th anniversary of the firm, which took place in December 1915. The newspapers...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      22 and 24 Lenin Street, 3 Oktyabrskaya revolyutsiya Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      Gostiny Dvor, BGPU
  • History

      In the early 20th century a large estate of the Blokhins (brothers Nikolay and Alexey) decorated Ufa downtown. Established in 1815 by their grandfather (or, perhaps, even their great-grandfather) as a trade company, in the early 20th century nothing but the company's name resembled the initial firm. In the early 1916 Moscow publishers headed by the famous Ivan Sytin (1851-1934) congratulated N. Blokhin, 72, upon the 100th anniversary of the firm, which took place in December 1915. The newspapers mentioned that for a long time Nikolay Blokhin was a member of Ufa City Duma and governorate board, member of one of the committees of the State Bank department in Ufa.

      According to local historians the Gudkovs, Nikita Blokhin (Nikolay's great-grandfather) came to Ufa from Yaroslavl. Actually, it was he or his son Ignaty who founded the family business. In the middle of the 19th century first guild merchant Kondraty Blokhin, Ignaty's son, purchased the former Aksakovs' estate in Golubinaya district (nowadays, Sergei Aksakov's Public Garden), where he built a wine distillery and traded the plant's output. In the 1870s the Blokhins constructed a summer theater in the garden. Later this garden with all the buildings was inherited by elder son Aleksandr. Afterwards, though, it was sold because of the owner's insolvency.

      Besides, in 1863 Kondraty Blokhin founded a brewery on the spot of the future mechanical rubber goods works. His wife owned 16 pubs in Ufa.

      According to certain sources, some of the estate's houses were designed and built by Pavel Isayev, Aleksey Blokhin's (younger brother) son-in-law. At least, the house he owned was decorated with a lot of Eclectic architectural features, and it was often reproduced by the publishers of postcards with Ufa views. Almost all his life Aleksey Blokhin, a lawyer, worked as a director of the City Public Bank. Nikolay Blokhin headed his grandfather's firm. On March 6, 1874 he opened a printing office (Blokhin's Printing Office) in one of his buildings, where he published his newspaper Ufa Sheet of Advertisements and Notifications, books, and brochures. Later he published postcards with Ufa views. At the corner of Tsentralnaya and Kazanskaya Streets in the house with a "cut" corner Blokhin traded colonial wines. Beside this wine store on Lenin Street he opened a book store, which is still operating. The surviving building was, obviously, constructed in 1915 by the firm's anniversary. Its interior, symbolizing the firm's trustworthiness, is still amazing visitors: high ceiling, like the one in Yeliseevsky store in Saint Petersburg, delicate columns, and cozy mezzanine floor with beautiful banisters. All that's missing is the founder's bust… The facade was decorated by the unknown architect in compliance with the Art Nouveau character. In the first years after the revolution the book store and adjacent facilities were used by the Republic's largest printing office Oktyabrsky natisk. The best part of its equipment formerly belonged to Blokhin. During the Great Patriotic War the building was occupied by the office of the International Red Aid.

      Nikolay Blokhin donated a large amount of money to build Mariinsky Girls Gymnasium (nowadays school No.3). At the corner of Malaya Usolskaya (nowadays Usolskaya) Street and 3rd Usolsky pereulok (Zilairskaya Street) he built a free hospital for 24 patients. For a long time (until the 1980s) the building was used as intended, and currently it is in a wonderful condition. In 1869 on Bolshaya Usolskaya Blokhin opened a library, which he gave to the city as a present. Near the library he built a two-storey brick building, which was also given to the city to deploy a parish school in it. In acknowledgement of Blokhin's contribution the city Duma named the adjacent street after Blokhin (nowadays Kavkazskaya Street).

      In the first years of the revolution Blokhin gave all his property to the new power. Nevertheless, he was put into prison, where, according to historians the Gudkovs, the 75 year old Blokhin died.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
5091
4
To top

Каталог объектов

Фирма книготорговая Блохина

Фирма книготорговая Блохина

В наше время:

Административное здание

В самом центре Уфы начала ХХ века располагалась большая усадьба Блохиных - Николая и Алексея Кондратьевичей. Основанная ещё в 1815 году их дедом (или, возможно, даже прадедом) как обычное торговое предприятие фирма Блохиных на рубеже ХХ века от первоначальной сохранила разве...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Ленина улица, 22; Ленина улица, 24; Октябрьской революции улица, 3
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Гостиный двор», «БГПУ»
  • История

      В самом центре Уфы начала ХХ века располагалась большая усадьба Блохиных - Николая и Алексея Кондратьевичей. Основанная ещё в 1815 году их дедом (или, возможно, даже прадедом) как обычное торговое предприятие фирма Блохиных на рубеже ХХ века от первоначальной сохранила разве что название. В начале 1916 года в Москве московские книгоиздатели во главе со знаменитым Иваном Дмитриевичем Сытиным (1851-1934) чествовали 72-летнего Н.К. Блохина по случаю состоявшегося в декабре 1915 г. 100-летнего юбилея фирмы. В газетах отмечалось, что Николай Кондратьевич долгое время был гласным Уфимской городской думы и губернского земства, членом одного из комитетов Уфимского отделения Государственного банка.

      Как утверждали краеведы Гудковы, прадед Николая Кондратьевича Никита Блохин приехал в Уфу из Ярославля. Собственно он, или, может быть, его сын Игнатий и были основателями торгового дела. В середине XIX века сын Игнатия купец первой гильдии Кондратий Блохин приобрёл бывшую аксаковскую усадьбу в Голубиной слободе (нынешний сад С.Т. Аксакова), где соорудил винокуренный завод и открыл оптовую и розничную торговлю его продукцией. В 1870-е годы Блохины выстроили в саду Летний театр. Впоследствии сад со всеми постройками достался по наследству старшему сыну Александру, но позже был продан на торгах из-за несостоятельности владельца.

      Кроме того, в 1863 году Кондратий Игнатьевич основал пивоваренный завод на том месте, где в советское время обосновался завод РТИ, а его жена держала в Уфе 16 питейных домов.

      По некоторым сведениям, некоторые дома на усадьбе проектировал и строил Павел Исаев, зять Алексея Кондратьевича Блохина - младшего из братьев Блохиных. Во всяком случае, принадлежавший ему дом до настройки украшенный многочисленными «архитектурными излишествами» из набора стиля эклектика, с удовольствием повторяли разные издатели видовых уфимских открыток. Алексей Блохин, юрист по образованию, практически всю жизнь служил директором Городского общественного банка. Что же касается Николая Кондратьевича Блохина, то именно он стал главой фирмы деда. 6 марта 1874 года в одном из принадлежавших ему зданий в центре города открылась типография – «Печатня Блохина», в которой печаталась издаваемая Блохиным газета «Уфимский листок объявлений и извещений», книги и брошюры. Позже он стал издавать и многочисленные открытки с видами города Уфы. На углу Центральной и Казанской, в доме со «срезанным» углом Блохин держал лавку колониальных вин. А рядом, на нынешней улице Ленина, он открыл действующий и по сей день книжный магазин. Сохранившееся по сей день здание выстроено вероятно в 1915 году, к юбилею фирмы. Интерьер его, символизировавший солидность фирмы, поражает покупателей и поныне: высоченный, как в «елисеевских» магазинах, потолок, изящные колонны, а вдоль стен – уютные антресоли второго этажа с узорными перилами. Для полноты впечатления не хватает разве что бюста основателя... Фасад же здания неизвестный архитектор выдержал в традициях стиля модерн применительно к торговому заведению. В первые послереволюционные годы в книжном магазине и соседних помещениях обосновалась крупнейшая типография Башкирской республики «Октябрьский натиск», большая часть оборудования которой прежде принадлежала Блохину. А в годы Великой Отечественной войны в здании на улице Ленина размещался Центральный комитет МОПР (Международной организации помощи борцам революции).

      Николай Кондратьевич Блохин пожертвовал крупные суммы на постройку здания Мариинской женской гимназии (нынешняя 3-я школа), на углу улиц Малой Усольской (ныне Усольской) и 3-го Усольского переулка (Зилаирская ул.) он построил бесплатную больницу на 24 койки. Здание, долгое время (до 1980-х гг.) использовавшееся по прямому назначению, прекрасно сохранилось. В 1869 году Блохин открыл на Большой Усольской улице библиотеку, которую в 1912 году подарил городу. Рядом с библиотекой на принадлежавшей ему же земле Блохин выстроил кирпичное двухэтажное здание и, как и библиотеку, тоже передал его городу – под приходское училище. В знак благодарности Городская дума назвала ближайшую от училища улицу Блохинской (ныне Кавказская).

      В первые послереволюционные годы Блохин все свое имущество отдал новой власти, что не помешало карающим органам заключить его в тюрьму. По сведениям краеведов Гудковых в тюрьме он, 75-летний старик, и умер.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5323
4
Наверх